Office Bearers

T. David Underwood

P.Eng., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, CPMP
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
ASHRAE President

As ASHRAE’s president, Underwood chairs the Society’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee. His presidential theme is “Making Connections.”

“Making Connections focuses on the first goal in ASHRAE’s Strategic Plan, which calls for connecting as a way to foster vibrant, informed and engaged ASHRAE and industry communities,” Underwood said. “The theme focuses not only on the connections of ASHRAE membership but extends to connecting with industry, communities, governments and globally.”

Underwood was awarded a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Manitoba. Immediately upon graduation, he entered the HVAC&R industry and was employed by a major products manufacturer for approximately 10 years. In 1975, Underwood founded Isotherm Engineering Ltd., an HVAC&R design-build enterprise, which continues to be operational.

He was a volunteer Board member of ORAC (the Ontario Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractors Association) for many years and served in all executive positions. He also served on the CSA B52 committee on Mechanical Refrigeration, the advisory committee that assisted the Ontario government in developing refrigeration regulations for Ontario.

He coauthored a trade refrigeration safety manual and served on a trade advisory committee for the refrigeration trade in Ontario.

As a member of a Canadian Federal committee he participated in writing the Building Science and Plumbing section of the 2015 edition of the Model National Building Code (MNBC).

He is an ASHRAE Distinguished Lecturer and a member of Technical Committee 7.2, HVAC&R Construction & Design Build Technologies, and of the Building Performance Alliance Ad Hoc Committee.

Underwood previously served on the Board as president-elect, treasurer, served two terms as a vice president and also served as a director-at-large.

He has received an Exceptional Service Award, a Distinguished Service Award and the William J. Collins Research Promotion Award.

Presidential Address Watch President Underwood deliver his presidential address at the 2015 Annual Conference

Read President Underwood’s Speech:

View President Underwood’s Presidential Theme Presentation:

Executive Committee

T. David Underwood, P.Eng.,
Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member,
Oakville, Ontario, Canada. President

Timothy G. Wentz, P.E.,
University of Nebraska – Lincoln ,
Nebraska President-Elect

Bjarne W. Olesen, Ph.D.,
Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member
Technical University of Denmark,
Kongens Lyngby, DenmarkTreasurer

Walid Chakroun, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE
Kuwait University
Safat, Kuwait.President

Patricia Graef, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE
Munters Corp.
Fort Myers, Florida Vice President

Charles “Chuck” E. Gulledge III, P.E., Member, HBDP
AC Corporation
Greensboro, North Carolina. Vice President

James K. Vallort, Fellow ASHRAE
Environmental Systems Design
Chicago, Illinois. Vice President

Jeff Littleton
ASHRAE Atlanta, Georgia Vice President

Directors and Regional Chairs

William “Bill” F. Walter
UTC Building and Industrial System
Syracuse, New YorkRegion I Director and Regional Chair

Douglas C. Cochrane, P.Eng.
Carrier Enterprise Canada
Mississauga, Ontario.Region II Director and Regional Chair

Roger K. Jones, P.E.
Honeywell International
Herndon, Virginia. Region III Director and Regional Chair

M. Ginger Scoggins, P.E.
Engineered Designs, Inc.
Cary, North Carolina.Region IV Director and Regional Chair

Richard A. Zbin, HFDP
TEC Inc.
Eastlake, Ohio.Region V Director and Regional Chair

Mark F. Miller
Mestek Inc. – Airtherm Division
Oregon, Wisconsin. Region VI Director and Regional Chair

Larry J. Fisher
ECT Services
Louisville, Kentucky. Region VII Director and Regional Chair

William K. Klock, P.E.
EEA Consulting Engineers
Austin, Texas. Region VIII Director and Regional Chair

Blake E. Ellis, P.E.
Burns & McDonnell
Kansas City, Missouri. Region IX Director and Regional Chair

Karine Leblanc
U.S. Air Conditioning Distributors
City of Industry, California Region X Director and Regional Chair

Keith A. Yelton, Life Member
ACI Mechanical and HVAC Sales
Portland, Oregon Region XI Director and Regional Chair

Jennifer A. Isenbeck, P.E., CPMP
University of Tampa
Tampa, Florida Region XII Director and Regional Chair

Edward K.C. Tsui
Intelligent Technologies Ltd.
Hong Kong. Region XIII Director and Regional Chair

Farooq Mehboob, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member
S. Mehboob and Co., Consulting Engineers
Karachi, Pakistan. Region-At-Large Director and Regional Chair


Erich Binder
Erich Binder Consulting
Calgary, Alberta

K. William Dean, P.Eng.
National Research Council of Canada
Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Canada.

Mark W. Fly, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE
AAON Tulsa,

Daniel Int-Hout III, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member
Krueger Richardson,

Julia A. Keen, Ph.D., P.E., BEAP, HBDP
Kansas State University,
Manhattan, Kansas

Dennis Knight, P.E, Fellow ASHRAE, BEMP
Whole Building Systems,
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina.

Ben A. Leppard, P.E.
Leppard Johnson and Associates,
Tucker, Georgia.

William “Bill” F. McQuade, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE
Johnson Controls York,

Mick Schwedler, P.E. Trane Co.

La Crosse, Wisconsin.